food obsession

I recently completed ten days on The Master Cleanser detox fast. It was a wonderful experience, despite some boredom, fatigue, and lightheadedness, but it’s great knowing that I’m cleaning out my entrails and removing the stagnant pollution of processed foods, high fructose cornsyurp, and other flotsam from our modern culinary age.

I’m still easing my way back into solid foods. Today a veggie tempura soba noodle soup at the local sushi den gave me stomach cramps. Maybe it was too soon to go into fried foods. Anyway, the silver lining of this fast is that it has absolutely awakened my passion for food and cooking!

My father is a very accomplished chef (never professionally, but his creations for the home might as well have been) and my mother is excellent (albeit different) as well. What little I know up til now I have learned from watching them both by osmosis.

But now I am ready to set out on my own, and some of the areas I plan to tackle are Peruvian food and raw fooding. Peruvian food, well, what can I say? It’s such an interesting cuisine, with such an diverse array of flavors and textures that is unlike any other common ethnic food that’s made its way into the U.S. (remember what Thai was exotic?). As for raw food, many people who do the Master Cleanser eventually become raw foodists, either part of the time or full time.

I’m still in exploration mode, but I’m very very inspired. Now you’ll have to excuse me, I have to go to Whole Paycheck to pick up some agave nectar and fruits for my fruit salad this evening.

Very cool raw food recipe blog/resource

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

~ by Lola/Dakini's Bliss Yoga on August 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
