AskMen.com’s Top 99 Women of 2008

I am fascinated by what men think. It began as wanting to understand my BF better, or more accurately, to understand why he has to look at that hot busty waitress that just walked by….but anyway, I digress. What began as an exploration of the male psyche has become a fascination: with just how different they are from women, with just how mulit-faceted is the male brain, and with what, exactly, they (and I suppose, by extension, my BF) find hot and why.

So when I happened upon AskMen.com’s (women: if you’ve never read this site before, be warned! It is written BY men FOR men and the tone may shock and disgust you! But if you are open-minded enough, you may discover a new perspective) Top 99 Women of 2008, I had to check it out, especially when I read copy like this:

In casting their votes, readers are asked to look beyond sex appeal and beauty to pick women who have the characteristics they value in a potential companion, like intelligence, humor, charisma, and ambition. The result is an annual list that acts as the definitive gauge for identifying what modern men desire most in their female companions. 

A definitive gauge for identifying what modern men desire most in their female companions?! Good god, that is top secret information! So I immediately surfed to the top ten, cut to the chase, drank the milk from the container, ate the pizza right out of the box. And let me say I was rather surprised. Which is probably par for the course. I mean, I AM a woman, and women rate themselves very differently from how men would. But nevertheless, I was just well, surprised.

Is there a guy reading this that can explain to me why Rhianna is #8? She’s cute and all, but is it her money and fame that are sexier than her looks? Eva Mendes is #4, moving waaaay up the charts from her last year’s position (45). Some of the comments, however, give me pause: these are men we’re talking about right?

“Great body but horse face.”

“Loved her until the rehab story came out. Now not sexy.”

“Ok, a bit boring.”

Ummmmm, ok?

Jessica Biel, who I no longer find that interesting, is #7, and Adriana Lima, she of Victoria’s Secret fame, is #10. Comments about Ms. Lima varied from “hypnotic” to “boring.” If Adriana Lima is boring, then I am obviously something the cat dragged in last night! Kate Beckinsale of the Underworld series is #3, and a well deserved placement. I like her: a strong silent brunette type, sort of like Catherine Zeta-Jones in her heyday.

But I can not reveal #1, not only because I am so befuddled as to WHY she would be chosen, but so you can go look for yourself :)

AskMen.com Top 99 Women

ps: for any women reading this who think I have flipped my lid to promote a poll where women are RATED and not appreciated at for the special, unique characters they are, I say…you need a dose of reality. Yes, men WILL appreciate the details, but not until they have deemed the external goods passable.

~ by Lola on April 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
